2015 SITI Leadership Excellence Award

In 2013, Action Drill & Blast launched its SITI (Safety, Integrity, Teamwork, Innovation) Leadership Excellence Award to recognise those within our company who demonstrate outstanding, consistently strong leadership in accordance with our core values of safety, integrity, teamwork and innovation.

Strong leadership ensures that we all travel the same path at the same pace and reach the destination ready and able to accept the next challenge.

There is no cash prize, no gift card or big holiday for the recipient of the SITI award – but something far more important: the genuine respect and acknowledgement from peers.

Last week we announced the finalists and overall winner of the SITI Award for 2015. Taking out the top recognition was Operations Manager, Damien Gorman.

Damien has more than 20 years in the industry having started out in the early 90’s as blast crew, driller and then leading hand. Damien then took up similar positions at the Greenbushes lithium mine before moving into the position of site manager for drill and blast operations at the project.

Going on to manage drill and blast activities on a number of other WA civil and mining projects including Area C, Sunrise Dam, Koolyanobbing, Wodgina, Yandi, Woodie Woodie, Marillana Siding and Fortescue Rail, Damien then joined ADB in 2010 as a Drill & Blast Superintendent at the Western Turner Syncline project.

Two years later, Damien was promoted to the role of Operations Manager and has since managed the activities on many of ADB’s mining projects in Western Australia.

Damien demands excellence from his teams and, as demonstrated by feedback from his peers, he does this through leading by example.

A huge congratulations to Damien for an outstanding achievement.

We’d also like to congratulate our other seven finalists who also displayed exceptional leadership skills during 2015:

  • Jeff Sleep, Operations Manager
  • Dean Stoney, Maintenance Manager
  • Frank Grob, Project Manager
  • Kirsty Walker, Senior HR Advisor
  • Pam Davidson, HSE Coordinator
  • Paul Bolger, Drill & Blast Supervisor
  • Zach Heales, Maintenance Supervisor

2015 SITI Leadership Excellence Award was last modified: June 9th, 2016 by goliver